Teaching, Art and Inspiration

As most of you know – in addition to my photography business, I am also a teacher.  I think this actually makes me a better photographer, since I work with children all day every day for a living.  I know what makes children laugh, feel comfortable and have fun.  Plus, I love working with my staff and our school community.  Occasionally, though, being a photographer makes me a better teacher.  These pictures are evidence of that unique perspective.  Our staff participated in a professional development day in November based upon techniques that they could use to implement arts integration into their content.  Our teachers learned lots of different ways to teach math, reading, science and social studies through various art forms.  Turns out, they had a great day of learning, got excited about the possibilities for the classroom and in turn, our students will be more engaged and learn more deeply.  And I had the pleasure of capturing it all with my lens – both my camera lens and my personal lens of perception.  Enjoy the picture and watch as inspiration unfolds….

Leave a Reply

